Possession can be defined in a couple of ways. It can mean the act of possessing something. It can also mean the actual holding onto or occupying of an item or place without you being the rightful owner of the item or the place. Possession of an item is something that everyone can do. It could be possession of a brand new car. Possession of a family heirloom that was passed down from generation to generation. Possession of a rare jewel that you found one weekend at the flea market in the next town over. All of these types of possession are not against the law, or illegal, in any way. Possession of illegal substances, however, is against the law and there are penalties for these actions. If you, a friend or a loved one has been arrested for illegal possession of something and you have been granted a bail bond by a state of Connecticut judge, then call Atomic Bail Bonds today. We can help you get out of jail so you can prepare your case from the comforts of your own home.
If you, a friend or a loved one has been arrested for the possession of one and a half (1.5) ounces or more of marijuana in public then you could face up to one (1) year in jail and fees and fines totaling up to $2,000. Your charge will be considered a misdemeanor. If you have been arrested on your second offense for cultivating up to three (3) mature plants and three (3) immature plants then you will face fines up to $500. This will be considered a civil offense. If you have been arrested for the third time or more for cultivating up to three (3) mature plants and three (3) immature plants then you will face fines up to $500 but this charge will be considered a misdemeanor. If you have been arrested and were caught with less than one (1) kilogram for the first time, this is considered a felony. You can face up to seven (7) years in prison and up to $25,000 in fees and fines. If you were arrested for the second time or more for having less than one (1) kilogram this is considered a felony. You can face up to fifteen (15) years in prison and up to $100,000 in fees and fines. If you were caught with one (1) kilogram or more for the first time, you will face felony charges. These carry five to twenty (5 – 20) years in prison and fees and fines totaling up to $25,000. Any charge after the first one for more than one (1) kilogram will have you facing felony charges with a ten to twenty-five (10-25) year prison sentence and fees and fines totaling up to $100,000. If you are caught in possession withing 1,500 feet of a school, public housing, daycare center or a church, you will get an additional three (3) years added on to your prison sentence. If you are over the age of eighteen (18) and you sell to some under the age of eighteen (18) then two (2) years will be added on to your prison sentence.
There are other types of possessions that you can be arrested for in the state of Connecticut. A major one is the possession of a gun. If you are visiting or even passing through the state of Connecticut and you have a gun permit from the state you live in, it will not be valid here. If you will be in the state of Connecticut for an extended period of time, you can apply directly to the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection. You will have to fill out the permit application and they should expedite the process for you. In order to carry a gun legally, you must be a resident of the state of Connecticut and fill out the proper permit application. If you are from out of state and you have a permit for knives, BB guns, brass knuckles, a baton, martial arts weapons or electric defense weapon, the state of Connecticut will not honor these permits. Possession of those weapons in the state of Connecticut is against the law. If you are from out of state and you get pulled over and weapons are found, you will be charged unless you have the correct license or permit to carry. Machine guns, pistols, revolvers and any other weapons are illegal to carry in any motor vehicle without the proper permit. If a person is not prohibited from transporting, shipping, possessing, or receiving any firearms then they could properly transport firearms in between states but there are some restrictions that can apply under federal statutes. If you bought a gun while you were in Connecticut, one way you can avoid being charged with gun possession is to leave the weapon in its original packaging. This will show that the weapon has not been used and is not intended for immediate use either. If you are stopped by a police officer and they have a reasonable suspicion that a crime has occurred then you will have to produce your gun permit. The officer must be able to see the pistol or revolver in order to legally stop you though. You cannot carry your gun everywhere with you in the state of Connecticut in the following places: any school grounds at any time, the House of General Assembly or any place to do with the General Assembly, any place or property where guns are prohibited by the owner, any state forest or any state park. If you are found to be intoxicated and carrying a gun, you will be arrested. If you are caught carrying a dangerous weapon other than a firearm, you will be charged with a Class E felony. If you are caught carrying a gun without a valid permit, you will be charged with a Class D felony and you will lose the gun. If you do not have a permit on you at the time, you will face a fine of $35. If you are carrying a gun and found to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you will be charged with a Class B misdemeanor. If you illegally possess a weapon in any motor vehicle, you will be charged with a Class D felony. If you violate the requirements of the permit to carry a pistol on authorized grounds, then you will be charged with a Class E felony. If you violate the requirements of the permit to carry a pistol on unauthorized grounds, you will face a Class E felony and lose the weapon that you were found to possess.
If you are a resident or non-resident of the state of Connecticut and find yourself facing one of these possession charges, we can help you out. If the judge has granted you a bail bond, contact Atomic Bail Bonds now. We can get you out of jail so you can prepare and fight your case from home. Our agents will be able to walk you through the entire bail bond process with ease. Call us now at (860) 982-4661 . Our agents are waiting.