Robbery charges are similar to a larceny charge because they both involve taking someone else’s money or property. The difference is that robbery charges involve the use of force or intimidating the victim until they give you what you want. Robbery charges are more serious of the two because it involves the use of force against the victim.
When you commit robbery, you are taking the money or property from someone else without their permission. The commission of robbery also involves you using force or you threaten to use force in order to get what you want from your victim. When you commit robbery, you are taking things from the victim without planning on giving it back, the owner of the property did not give you their permission to take the property or you forced your victim to give it to you. An example of robbery would be you and a friend of yours robbed a bank in the area where you live. You had weapons and you threatened the bank tellers or manager to give you the money from the bank. This involves all of the things that will make you receive a robbery charge. There is force, taking of property that did not belong to you and you had the intent to rob the bank of the money.
First degree robbery is considered a Class B felony in the state of Connecticut. This happens when the offender actually causes some type of a serious physical injury to the person they are attempting to rob or to someone who is in the area of the robbery while you were committing the offense, the offender is armed with a deadly weapon, the offender threatens to use a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument of some kind and then shows the deadly weapon (pistol, revolver, rifle, shotgun, machine gun or any other type of firearm) or dangerous instrument. If you have been arrested for first degree robbery, you can face from one (1) to twenty (20) years in prison and up to $15,000 in fees and fines.
Second degree robbery is classified as a Class C felony in the state of Connecticut. This charge can happen when you and an accomplice rob someone, you threaten to use a deadly or dangerous weapon during the robbery or you intimidate a bank employee until they fear for their life to give you money. If you have been arrested for second degree robbery charges, you can face anywhere from one to ten (1-10) years in jail and up to $10,000 in fees and fines.
Third degree robbery is classified as a Class D felony in the state of Connecticut. Third degree robbery happens when you threaten to use physical force on the victim for the purpose of taking property from them. If you prevent your victim from resisting you and coerce them to give their property then you will be guilty of third-degree robbery. Third degree robbery does not include a weapon used against your victim. With this charge, there is no mandatory prison sentence if you have no prior felonies. You will most likely face a couple of years of probation and have to pay court fees. However, if you have previous felonies, you can face one (1) to five (5) years in prison and up to $5,000 in fees and fines.
If you committed robbery by taking someone else’s vehicle from them while they were in it then you can face up to three years in prison. A vehicle, in the state of Connecticut, can be many things. Vehicles can include a car, truck, commercial trucks, commercial trailers, three wheelers, four wheelers, ATV’s, snowmobiles, an airplane, a boat, golf carts, farming equipment, tractors, snowplows, snow blowers, lawn mowers, motorcycles or motor homes (RV’s).
If you, a friend or a loved one has been arrested for robbery, there is a process you will go through after you are put in handcuffs and placed into the back of a police car. You will be taken to the local police station and put into the system there. They will put all of your personal information which includes your name, date of birth, your address, your height, your weight, take your fingerprints and sometimes they will take your mugshot. They will also in put the crime for which you were arrested for. They will then transport you to the booking room at the local jail. You will be processed into the local jail and wait to see a judge. Seeing a judge will usually happen the next day or the same day if you are arrested in the early hours. The judge will decide your fate from there. He or she will look at many factors that can influence their decision. They check to see if you are a flight risk, if you have ties to the local community, if you are employed, how long have you been employed at your current job and if you have had any previous felonies or robbery charges. The judge that presides over your case will either sentence you to probation, send you to prison or release you on a bail bond in the amount of their choosing.
If you have been granted a bail bond by the judge who presided over your case, contact Atomic Bail Bonds at (860) 982-4661. We are standing by and are ready to help you, your friend or your loved one. Our agents are professional and courteous people who will help you through the bail bond process. We do not judge you just because you committed a crime. Contact us today and provide us with the information we need so we can help you, your friend or your loved one get out of jail and back home to their family. You can work on your defense from the comforts of your own home while you are out on a bail bond. Contact Atomic Bail Bonds now. We will not add anymore stress to your life through this bail bond process. Don’t wait. Call us at (860) 982-4661.