Weapons come in many shapes and different forms. Some are homemade while others are manufactured in a factory by the thousands. If you have been arrested for possession of a weapon in the state of Connecticut, there will be consequences for you to face.
There are ways to avoid prosecution of weapons charges in the state of Connecticut. If you buy a gun at a gun show or a store that sells guns, you must apply for a gun permit or meet certain criteria to obtain a certificate before purchasing the weapon. You will have to pass a background check and be found suitable and capable of being a gun owner. The Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP) has to approve all gun transfers whether it is from a private owner or a licensed store dealer. The last thing you must do in order to be a legal gun owner is to take an approved DESPP class on how to use a gun and how to use one safely. You will not have your gun permit application approved if you have been previously convicted of a felony charge, select other charges or if you fall under the psychiatric statutes that make you ineligible to possess a weapon.
Now if you have been arrested for weapons charges due to illegal possession, you are facing serious consequences in the state of Connecticut. Illegal weapons include BB guns, electronic defense weapons (tasers), brass, or any other metal, knuckles, martial arts weapons, switch blades, police batons or any knife that has a blade longer than four (4) inches. If you are caught and arrested while in possession of one of these weapons, you can face up to three (3) years in prison and up to $500 in fees and fines. This is considered a Class D felony and it will stay on your criminal record.
If you have been arrested and charged with the unlawful discharge of a firearm, you are facing a Class C misdemeanor charge. You can be charged with this is you intentionally, negligently or carelessly fire a gun and it caused bodily injury to someone or someone’s property. You could face up to three (3) months in jail and pay fees and fines up to $250.
If you have been arrested for carrying a gun while under the influence of drugs or alcohol then you are facing a Class B misdemeanor. You are not allowed by law to carry a loaded gun or hunt while you are intoxicated. You could face up to six (6) months in jail and pay fees and fines up to $1,000. If you are arrested while you are hunting and are intoxicated, your charge will be under a Class A misdemeanor. This charge can have you face up to one (1) year in prison and fines and fees up to $2,000.
If you commit a felony that is classified as Class A, B or C and you are in possession of a firearm, you will have five (5) years added onto your sentence in prison. These added five (5) years will not be able to be suspended. If the firearm you are caught carrying is classified as an assault weapon, eight (8) years will be added on to your sentence instead of five (5).
If you have been arrested for carrying a gun without a valid Connecticut state permit, you are facing one (1) to five (5) years in prison. Out of the years you are sentenced to, one (1) of them cannot be suspended unless the court determines eligible circumstances are met. If you have been arrested for possession of a gun while you are in a vehicle, you can face up to five (5) years in prison. If you are found to be in possession of a gun and you have previously been convicted of a felony or have a psychiatric condition, you will be charged with criminal possession of a firearm. This is classified as a Class C felony. You will face up to ten (10) years in prison where two (2) of those years cannot be suspended because this charge has a minimum mandatory sentence of two (2) years in prison. You will also face fees and fines of up to $5,000.
Some other charges that you could face in the state of Connecticut are possession of a weapon or dangerous instrument in a correctional institute. You can get one (1) to twenty (20) years in prison for that and it is classified as a Class B felony. If you possess a gun or electronic defense weapon (taser) you will face a mandatory two (2) years in prison and up to five (5) years in total. This is also a Class D felony. If you get arrested while in possession of a sawed-off shotgun or a silencer, you face one (1) to five (5) years in prison and have a Class D felony on your record. If you are arrested while having a gun on school property, you can face one (1) to five (5) years in prison. This is also a Class D felony. If you are arrested and have a pistol or a revolver on you, you can face one (1) to five (5) years in prison also. This is classified as a Class D felony. If you have been arrested and charged with the criminal use of a gun or electronic defense weapon (taser), you can face five (5) years in prison. Five (5) years is the minimum sentence you will get for this charge. This is also classified as a Class D felony.
After you have been arrested, you will be taken to the local police station where you were arrested. They will input your information into the computer system. After that, you will be taken to the local jail where you will be processed in booking. They will take your mugshot and give you your supplies you can have while you are in jail. You will usually see the judge the same day or the next day, depending on what time you get booked into the jail. The judge who presides over your case will decide your fate. He or she will determine the judgment based on a few different factors. Do you have ties to the local community? Do you have a job? If so, how long have you worked there? Do you have a legal and valid gun permit? Are you a flight risk? The judge will either release you on a bail bond or keep you in jail and give you your sentence according to the laws.
If the judge that presided over your case has given you a bail bond, contact Atomic Bail Bonds immediately. Our phone number is (860) 982–4661. Our agents are standing by and are ready to help you. We are available statewide, so we can get to you quickly no matter what time it is or what day it is. We are never closed. We will go over the paperwork with you until you understand it completely. Atomic Bail Bonds agents do not judge anyone just because they may have made a mistake. Call us now. We are ready to help you.